top of page

The Greed and the Generosity Chapter Thirteen

Updated: Nov 9, 2020

Chapter Thirteen

Admitting a Crush

"W-what?! I don't-" I stutter out as Randall cuts me off. "Oh come on, you obviously like her. What's not to like about Marci? I mean-" Now it was my turn to cut him off. "No, it's not like she's a horrible person or anything. I just don't have any feelings for her.” Randall gives me a dirty look, almost a death stare. "We both know that's not true.” he boldly states. I slouch in the cushioned booth of the diner and start poking my food, hoping he would change the subject.


The waiter came to our table and sets the bill next to Randall as he says, "Have a nice day gentlemen.” Once the waiter was gone, Randall looks at the bill and by the look on his face, it was a lot. "Yeah, good day to you too.." he murmurs under breath, reaching in his back pocket for his wallet.


"I'll be back little guy and once I get back," he says, "I wanna hear how ya really feel.” I sighed as he walked away. It was true, I liked Marci. Ever since day one when she pulled me out of the garbage. Why am I so ashamed of it..?


"Forty-seven dollars, can you believe it?" Randall asks as he comes back. "No kidding!" I exclaim. "Yeah, I know, right?" he says, "it's crazy..".


We began exiting the rip-off diner and Randall unfortunately remembers as he asks me, "Now, tell me about how you really feel towards Marci already.” rolling his eyes. "Okay, fine, I like her. I like her a lot. Happy now?" I say, wanting the conversation to end already. Randall laughs and says, "For sure.” He pulls out his car keys and unlocks his red Nissan Altima. "Your car looks about brand new." I mention. "Why thank you, I try to keep it as clean as I can.”


Just when I thought I was in the clear about Marci, Randall leans over from his driver seat and whispers, "You have a crush~.” "Just drive already!" I shout, slightly annoyed and amused at the same time. Randall laughs as he starts the car and pulls out of the parking lot, just in time for us to pick up Marci.



24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page