top of page

The Greed and the Generosity Chapter Eight

Updated: Aug 15, 2020

Chapter 8

Unsafe streets

"Now you be careful out there son," the doctor said to me on my way out. "These Philadelphia streets our not as safe as you would think. Just ask your parents and they'll tell you." "Yes sir!" Marci said with a quick salute. "Come on Kaz, let's go home" We began to walk out to the hospital and I stopped by the balcony along the curb. Boy was it a beautiful view... "Something wrong Kaz?" Marci said with a hand on my shoulder. "Don't worry about me.. I-" "Don't say that!"she said cutting me off. "Worrying about you is basically my 24/7 job Kaz. Ever since you got thrown into those garbage cans on day one, I haven't stopped. And that incident," she said pointing at my arm "didn't help." I let out a sigh and looked her in the eyes. "I don't have a home. My mom was murdered by my father and he kicked me out of the house. I don't have any parents left in my life.." I said finally looking away. "What about your grandparents..?" "They were war lovers... Fell in love when they went to boot camp. Died right on the frontlines...." I immediately looked at the sky, holding back tears as a flashback of my grandfather told me,"Generosity is a beautiful thing... But it's brother Greed will always be sitting on that other shoulder of yours.. Choose wisely" ".. still make our family work. We do have reminders of her but we keep her in our hearts and we move on. And so should you. A dead loved one makes us who we are Kaz, never forget that.." I nod my head as if I was listening to everything she told me. "Wait, didn't you say your father, that murdered your mother, kicked you out of the house? Please tell me he's in jail now.." Marci said, giving me a worried look. "I don't know.. I haven't seen him in.... What? Two days?" "You're telling me a murder is not in jail?!" I looked over Marci's shoulder, noticing the Bulldogs getting arrested. A police officer looked at us and began walking towards us. "We need to talk to the police about this!" Marci exclaimed. "Consider it done," I said pointing out the officer. "Hopefully this won't go wrong..." I said, starting to get my identification out.




17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page