top of page

The Greed and the Generosity Chapter Six

Chapter Six

Invitation to Disaster


This chapter is written in the perspective of Marci


After Kaz left, I closed the door and watched him walk away from out the window. I had a feeling that he had no idea where he was going. I headed out the door only to find that he disappeared. I went back inside and to my room. I started to draw to pass the time for dinner. But no matter what I drew, a bird, a tree, or even flowers, my mind always went back to Kaz. After a while I had to move on to something else. The thought of him was too much. I worried about what would happen to him. No Marci, I thought, he’ll be fine, he’s Kaz. But that did not make me feel any better.

I strolled into the kitchen to see what mom was making. When I saw what she was making, I thought I was losing it. Of course, she was making sushi. I walked out of the room and put on my shoes, along with my favorite hoodie. I just had to make sure he was alright. On my way out, I passed the kitchen.

“I’m going out,” I shouted, hoping that she would hear me over her blaring music.

She turns it off immediately and says to me, “You be careful, okay? I can’t-”

“I know mom,” I say cutting her off, “I’ll be safe.” I open the door and head outside, looking for any clue as to where he went. Kaz was obviously new, so he would go to a place he had been before. There was the football field but that was too far away to reach in twenty minutes. There was also the police station but they don't accept visitors around this time of night. That leaves only one other place I’ve seen him. Oh, no! I start to run, not stopping for anything or anyone .

When I finally was at the Bulldogs’ spot, they had already left. About a block away was Kaz, laying on the concrete. I ran to him, screaming his name but he didn’t hear me. His arm was at an odd angle and there was blood gushing out his nose. I let out a blood curdling scream for help and someone comes out, calling 911. I just sit there, holding Kaz, crying with blood getting all over my clothes.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page