top of page

The Greed and the Generosity Chapter Nine

Updated: Nov 9, 2020

Chapter Nine

Safety First

"Where is he at kid?!" the investigator shouted at me. I'm pretty sure it even echoed in the small room that contained me, Detective Jackson and Commander Gregson. Across the hall was another room with Marci and another detective I wasn't familiar with, having their own interrogation. But Marci had nothing to do with this.. "Jackson, the kid has told you multiple times that he doesn't know. Why don't you believe him?" I guess Gregson has my back. "Who's side are you on Commander?" Jackson said as he got up out of his chair and looked at Gregson. "Whoever has the better case," Gregson said as he took Jackson seat "and I believe the kid". "He's all yours then" Jackson said as he left the room. "Now, I need to know where your father is. And I believe you can help me identify him. For some reason, he doesn't show up on our database.. Do you mind describing him to our sketch identifier?" "Anything that helps find my father, I'm willing to do" "Happy to hear that!" Gregson says and knocks on the mirror in the room. "Hey, bring in the sketch identifier. The kid is willing to describe him to us". Gregson started pacing around the room and began asking me questions. "So, what is your name kid?" "Kazuki Kitaro sir" I said, watching him move around the room. "Japanese, I see.. What is your father's name?" "Soma, Soma Kitaro..." "And when was the last time you seen your father?" Gregson says as he leans against the wall. "Two days ago I believe" "Where have you been living then for the past two days then?" Gregson says quickly, as if he's starting to change sides again. "On the streets, sleeping on the ground" I say as I look down at my broken arm. "What about the girl..." Gregson says. "What about her??" I say wondering where he's going with his question. "You seem uneasy about my question. Do you care about her that much?" "Well. Yeah, of course I do. She was the one who took me to the hospital when my arm was broken. I mean, why wouldn't I? I owe her.." "The Bulldogs I believe did that to you. Seems your safety is very slim. I'm willing to make a deal with you Kazuki.." "What might that be?" I say, watching him sit down beside me again. "I can keep you here and have the police department take care of you. Or, I can send out one of my troops to look out for you and let you leave. What will it be?" "I'm okay with one troops protecting me" "Consider it done then" Gregson gets up once again and knocks on the mirror once again. "Hey, bring in Rookie Randall. Safety first gentlemen.."




26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page